Mini How To… How to get rid of Unity from Ubuntu 12.10!


I’ve never been a fan of Unity, I prefer Gnome 3 so when I found that I was unable to login to Gnome 3 in Ubuntu 12.10 after upgrading from 12.04 and could only login to Unity, I decided that enough was enough and Unity was going to go as it just adds another layer of complication when diagnosing bugs in Ubuntu.

In this particular instance, the blooming useless LightDM display manager was the cause of the problem and after reverting back to GDM I could then login to Gnome 3 and not Unity.

I found this blog post which walked me through what turned out to be a simple task in removing all of the Unity mischief from Ubunti 12.10.

Leave a Reply

